New Art Dealers Alliance
December 1–5, 2020
Sofa / Painting
Online
SOFA / PAINTING is a project and conversation series coordinated by three galleries for NADA Miami.

Keijsers Koning (NY, USA), Norma Mangione Gallery (Turin, Italy), and TJ Boulting (London, UK) have come together to create a virtual booth: instead of three walls, the galleries are presenting three live-feeds in which each gallery has invited their artist to think about a sofa and a corresponding artwork to hang above it. 

During designated ‘fair hours’ the gallerists will be live-streamed sitting at their ‘booths’ where the sofa and artwork will be displayed. Each gallery will also present one event interacting with their corresponding artists: Jeff Grant (Keijsers Koning), Francesco Pedraglio (Norma Mangione gallery), Juno Calypso (TJ Boulting), and further engaging with a virtual audience.

Each gallery's live-feed, as well as all scheduled conversations, can be streamed live at this website.

The series will kick off with an introduction about the project by the gallerists, and conclude with an interview with Gracie Mansion and Sur Rodney Sur to discuss their experience with the original project.

Fair hours will be live-streamed daily at 10am—2pm EST (New York), 3—7 pm GMT (London), 4 —8 pm CET (Turin)

Tuesday, December 1, 2020, 10am EST, 3pm GMT, 4pm CET
Introduction by Bart Keijsers Koning (Keijsers Koning), Norma Mangione (Norma Mangione Gallery) and Hannah Watson (TJ Boulting)

Wednesday, December 2, 2020, 11am EST, 4pm GMT, 5pm CET
Keijsers Koning and Jeff Grant will be holed up in their playroom discussing the body and art.

Thursday, December 3, 2020, 1pm EST, 6pm GMT, 7pm CET
Join artist Juno Calypso and TJ Boulting director Hannah Watson on the sofa for a dark nostalgic trip to the ghost of chat shows past. Oprah meets Beetlejuice.

Friday, December 4, 2020, 11am EST, 4pm GMT, 5pm CET
Norma Mangione and Francesco Pedraglio will jump borders through an interactive performance from Mexico to Italy, during which you will be invited to call the artist and hear a story.

Saturday, December 5, 2020, 10am EST, 3pm GMT, 4pm CET
Gracie Mansion and Sur Rodney Sur speak with all three gallerists to share their stories about the original 1983 Sofa/Painting exhibition and the art world at that time.