What Pipeline
NADA Artadia Award
New York 2014

What Pipeline at NADA New York 2014

What Pipeline at NADA New York 2014

What Pipeline received the 2014 New York NADA Artadia Award, a $4,000 unrestricted merit-based award selected at the 2014 edition of NADA New York. A jury comprised of two internationally renowned curators, Ingrid Schaffner, Chief Curator, Institute of Contemporary Art, Philadelphia, University of Pennsylvania, and Carin Kuoni, Director, Vera List Center for Art and Politics, The New School for Public Engagement, determined the award winner.

“NADA offers a scale so conducive to seeing, in some depth, a lot of great work by individual artists; however, we decided to award the Artadia Prize to What Pipeline. It represents to us a relevant and future-oriented model of how artists collaborate locally and beyond by establishing networks that operate both outside of, and through, the art world’s centers,” note Carin Kuoni and Ingrid Schaffner. “Activated by different contexts—studio, exhibition, gallery, art fair—these ad hoc aggregates of artists perform different functions within our very complex art system. And while Detroit may have its own gravitational pull right now, What Pipeline seems purposefully situated to exert pressure from within—and upon—this most utopian of dystopias on contemporary culture at large.

About the NADA Artadia Award

The NADA Artadia Award is a collaborative, unrestricted Award presented at NADA art fairs. The Award recipient is chosen by a jury of two renowned curators on the opening day of the fair and publicly announced later that day. The selected artists receive all of the lifetime benefits of the Artadia Awards program, including access to Artadia’s national network and the option to participate in Artadia’s ongoing programs, exhibitions, and professional services.